Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Marshall Islands, Palau, Nauru and Kiribati

Small Island Developing States Leave No One Behind Integrated Policy

Accelerating SDG achievement through digital transformation to strengthen community resilience in Micronesia

Together with seven United Nations agencies joining efforts through the multi-country office of the Pacific, the recently-launched Joint Programme in Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau and Kiribati is expected to embrace digital transformation across multiple sectors to respond to the local needs and priorities addressing multiple high priority challenges expressed by the citizens. More specifically, the joint programme will make use of digital solutions to enhance early childhood development policy and strategy frameworks, nutrition and food-based diets, employment, shock responsive social protection and safety nets for children and vulnerable groups. One of the central expected outcomes will be improved coherence amongst digital policy, legislative and strategy frameworks supportive of cross-sectoral digital transformation. Digital access and literacy will be promoted in a safe and meaningful manner that improves the quality of life and livelihood.


This Joint Programme (JP) aims to leverage digital transformation to accelerate the achievement of the SDGs in Micronesian countries and strengthen community resilience. It aims to achieve this impact by accelerating the adoption of digital transformation related enabling policies, legislation and strategies across various sectors, as well as by piloting a "smart islands" approach in at least five remote islands and villages in the Micronesian countries. The smart islands approach will accelerate digital transformation at the community level.

Direct Influence

Women, Children, Girls, Youth, Persons with disabilities, Rural workers, Human rights defenders (incl. NGOs, journalists, union leaders, whistle-blowers). Indirect Influence: Older persons, Other groups: marginalized island communities.

Quick facts

Total budget:
US $ 3,809,000

Total Funding:
US $ 3,809,000

UN Agencies:


National Partners:

Kiribati: Ministry of Information, Communication, Transport and Tourism Development; Ministry of Environment, Lands and Agriculture Developments; Ministry of Education; Ministry of Health and Medical Services; Ministry of Employment & Human Resources Development; Ministry of Justice; Communications Commission of Kiribati; Telecom Service Providers; Island Councils/Local government; Churches and Women Groups Radio; Kiribati Trade Union Congress; Kiribati Chamber of Commerce & Industry; Kiribati Police Service. Federated States of Micronesia: Department of Transport, Communications and Infrastructure; Department of Resources & Development; Department of Education; Telecommunication Regulator; Telecommunication Service Providers; Department of Health; Department of Agriculture; Department of Finance; FSM National Police. Republic of

Marshall Islands: Ministry of Transportation, Communications & IT; Ministry of Natural Resources & Commerce (Agriculture as well as Trade); Ministry of Justice, Immigration and Labour; Telecommunication Service Providers; Office of The Chief Secretary; Ministry of Health and Human Services; Ministry of Education; Ministry of Culture and Internal Affairs; Marshall Islands Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Marshall Islands Teachers’ Union; Marshall Islands Police Department. Republic of Nauru: Ministry of Public Infrastructure & Industries; Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and the Environment; Ministry of Education; Ministry of Health; Telecommunication Service Providers; Ministry of Justice; Palau Nurses Association; Palau Chamber of Commerce. Other partners: Community based organizations; Farmer associations; Fisherman associations; Livestock farmer associations; Youth organizations; Faith-based organizations; Non-government organizations; Women’s groups/councils/associations; Journalists, media associations, human rights defenders; Pacific Island Food Revolution; Media/Broadcasters. Additionally, we envision the following potential partners: Ministries of Education, Health, Women, Youth and Social Affairs, Internal Affairs; Ministries of Labour, Employment, Youth and Welfare; Provincial and local governments; Department of Resources and Planning (FSM); Finance sector regulators. Civil society organizations: Pacific Island Forum; Pacific Community (SPC). Private sector: Telecom service providers; Pacific Islands Telecommunications Association (PITA); International Financial Institutions (with investments in connectivity and ICT access across the Pacific; World Bank; Asian Development Bank; Development Partners; Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Australia); Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (New Zealand); United States Agency for International Development

9/1/22 - 8/30/24 (48 months)